London Bridge Is Not Falling Down; It Never Will #londonbridge #Ilovelondon

TanGental’s thoughts speak for all Londoners.

TanGental

London Bridge is falling down,
Falling down, falling down.
London Bridge is falling down,
My fair lady

It’s nothing special, London Bridge. Not as iconic as Tower Bridge; not as twee as Albert or as sharply modern as the Millennium. Its popularity stems as much from the ability to take pictures of other parts of London. Functional, really.

How many times have I crossed it? Stood on it? Dad used to tell of the London smogs of the 1950s when he feared walking into the parapet and falling into the river.

How many ways have I crossed it? I’ve walked, I’ve run, I’ve cycled. I’ve driven and been driven. I’ve caught buses, shared cabs. I’ve been sober and drunk. I’ve tripped and fallen and I’ve smiled and cried.

What views have I taken in from it. Tower Bridge…

by day and

the new, the Shard

and the old, The Tower…

View original post 323 more words

Leave a Reply

